Global Daily Tax Update

 Tax News Update    Tax News Update archive    Email this document    Print this document

August 17, 2018
2018-5991

Certain Chinese input VAT receivables may be refundable

China's Ministry of Finance and the State Administration of Taxation jointly released Caishui [2018] No. 70 (Circular 70). Under Circular 70, effective from 27 June 2018, accumulated uncredited input value added tax (VAT) balances, i.e., VAT receivables, for 18 industries including advanced manufacturing, and some of modern service industries as well as the power-grid enterprises may be refundable.

Taxpayers in the following industry sectors will receive priority in the application process:

  • New-generation information technologies
  • High-end numerically-controlled machine tools and robotics
  • Aeronautics and space equipment
  • Ocean engineering equipment and high-tech vessels
  • Advanced rail transit equipment
  • Energy conservation and new-energy cars/vehicles
  • Electronic equipment
  • Agricultural machinery and equipment
  • New materials
  • Biological medicine and high-performance medical devices

All applicants are required to have the tax credit rating of A or B in the Chinese tax authorities' system. Qualified taxpayers are able to claim the refund based on the VAT receivables balance as of the preceding filing period prior to date when the application is made, for example, if the application is done in October, 2018, the applicable receivable balance is as of 30 September 2018. However, the total refund amount is capped at the 31 December 2017 balance.

Refundable VAT is computed as follows:

Amount of input VAT refund = Ending balance of input VAT credit as of the end of the previous period (i.e., accumulated VAT receivable balance) x refund ratio (to be determined by a special formula)

The refund procedural implementation is expected to be completed by the end of September 2018; however, it may be extended, subject to further notice issued by Chinese tax authorities.

———————————————
CONTACTS

For additional information with respect to this Alert, please contact the following:

Ernst & Young Tax Services Limited, Hong Kong

  • Jane Hui
    jane.hui@hk.ey.com
  • Becky Lai
    becky.lai@hk.ey.com

Ernst & Young Ernst & Young (China) Advisory Limited, Shanghai

  • Walter Tong
    walter.tong@cn.ey.com
  • Vickie Tan
    vickie.tan@cn.ey.com

Ernst & Young Ernst & Young (China) Advisory Limited, Beijing

  • Henry Chan
    henry.chan@cn.ey.com
  • Martin Ngai
    martin.ngai@cn.ey.com
  • Andrew Choy
    andrew.choy@cn.ey.com

Ernst & Young Ernst & Young (China) Advisory Limited, Shenzhen

  • Clement Yuen
    clement.yuen@cn.ey.com

Ernst & Young LLP, China Tax Desk, New York

  • Min Fei
    min.fei@ey.com
  • Andrea Yue
    andrea.yue1@ey.com
  • Vickie Lin
    vickie.lin@ey.com

Ernst & Young LLP, China Tax Desk, Chicago

  • Lucy Wang
    lucy.wang1@ey.com

Ernst & Young LLP, China Tax Desk, San Jose

  • Diana Wu
    diana.wu@ey.com

Ernst & Young LLP, China Transaction Tax Desk, New York

  • Sherry Cui
    sherry.cui1@ey.com

Ernst & Young LLP, Asia Pacific Business Group, New York

  • Chris Finnerty
    chris.finnerty1@ey.com
  • Kaz Parsch
    kazuyo.parsch@ey.com
  • Bee-Khun Yap
    bee-khun.yap@ey.com

———————————————
ATTACHMENT

PDF version of this Tax Alert

 

 

 


 

The information contained herein is general in nature and is not intended, and should not be construed, as legal, accounting or tax advice or opinion provided by Ernst & Young LLP to the reader. The reader also is cautioned that this material may not be applicable to, or suitable for, the reader's specific circumstances or needs, and may require consideration of non-tax and other tax factors if any action is to be contemplated. The reader should contact his or her Ernst & Young LLP or other tax professional prior to taking any action based upon this information. Ernst & Young LLP assumes no obligation to inform the reader of any changes in tax laws or other factors that could affect the information contained herein.

 

Copyright © 2018, Ernst & Young LLP.

 

All rights reserved. No part of this document may be reproduced, retransmitted or otherwise redistributed in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including by photocopying, facsimile transmission, recording, rekeying, or using any information storage and retrieval system, without written permission from Ernst & Young LLP.

 

Any U.S. tax advice contained herein was not intended or written to be used, and cannot be used, by the recipient for the purpose of avoiding penalties that may be imposed under the Internal Revenue Code or applicable state or local tax law provisions.

 

"EY" refers to the global organisation, and may refer to one or more, of the member firms of Ernst & Young Global Limited, each of which is a separate legal entity. Ernst & Young Global Limited, a UK company limited by guarantee, does not provide services to clients.

 

Privacy  |  Cookies  |  BCR  |  Legal  |  Global Code of Conduct