Sign up for tax alert emails    GTNU homepage    Tax newsroom    Email document    Print document    Download document

February 11, 2019
2019-5194

Argentina United Arab Emirates Tax Treaty enters into force

On 4 February 2019, Argentina notified the United Arab Emirates (UAE) Government that its internal requirements had been satisfied for the entry into force of the Tax Treaty for the Avoidance of Double Taxation and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasion With Respect to Taxes on Income and on Capital (the Treaty) signed between Argentina and the UAE.

Article 30 of the Treaty states that it will enter into force on the date of the last notification made between the parties. Because the UAE already notified Argentina on 9 August 2017, that it had complied with its internal requirements, the Treaty entered into force on 4 February 2019, which is the date of the last notification.

The Treaty provisions will take effect:

  • For amounts paid on or after 1 January 2020, for taxes withheld at source
  • For tax years beginning on or after 1 January 2020, for other taxes on income and taxes on capital

Companies doing business in Argentina and the UAE should take note of the changes that the Treaty introduces, and determine how those changes affect their operations.

For additional information with respect to this Alert, please contact the following:

Pistrelli, Henry Martin & Asociados S.R.L., Buenos Aires
  • Carlos Casanovas | carlos.casanovas@ar.ey.com
  • Gustavo Scravaglieri | gustavo.scravaglieri@ar.ey.com
  • Ariel Becher | ariel.becher@ar.ey.com
  • Darío Corrente | dario.corrente@ar.ey.com
Ernst & Young, LLP, Latin American Business Center, New York
  • Pablo Wejcman | pablo.wejcman@ey.com
  • Juan Ignacio Pernin | juan.ignacio.pernin@ey.com
  • Ana Mingramm | ana.mingramm@ey.com
  • Enrique Perez Grovas | enrique.perezgrovas@ey.com
Ernst & Young LLP (United Kingdom), Latin American Business Center, London
  • Jose Padilla | jpadilla@uk.ey.com
  • Pablo Baroffio | pablo.baroffio@uk.ey.com
Ernst & Young Tax Co., Latin American Business Center, Japan & Asia Pacific
  • Raul Moreno, Tokyo | raul.moreno@jp.ey.com
  • Luis Coronado, Singapore | luis.coronado@sg.ey.com

ATTACHMENT

 
 

The information contained herein is general in nature and is not intended, and should not be construed, as legal, accounting or tax advice or opinion provided by Ernst & Young LLP to the reader. The reader also is cautioned that this material may not be applicable to, or suitable for, the reader's specific circumstances or needs, and may require consideration of non-tax and other tax factors if any action is to be contemplated. The reader should contact his or her Ernst & Young LLP or other tax professional prior to taking any action based upon this information. Ernst & Young LLP assumes no obligation to inform the reader of any changes in tax laws or other factors that could affect the information contained herein.

 

Copyright © 2023, Ernst & Young LLP.

 

All rights reserved. No part of this document may be reproduced, retransmitted or otherwise redistributed in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including by photocopying, facsimile transmission, recording, rekeying, or using any information storage and retrieval system, without written permission from Ernst & Young LLP.

 

Any U.S. tax advice contained herein was not intended or written to be used, and cannot be used, by the recipient for the purpose of avoiding penalties that may be imposed under the Internal Revenue Code or applicable state or local tax law provisions.

 

"EY" refers to the global organisation, and may refer to one or more, of the member firms of Ernst & Young Global Limited, each of which is a separate legal entity. Ernst & Young Global Limited, a UK company limited by guarantee, does not provide services to clients.

 

Privacy  |  Cookies  |  BCR  |  Legal  |  Global Code of Conduct