Sign up for tax alert emails    GTNU homepage    Tax newsroom    Email document    Print document    Download document

September 11, 2019
2019-6104

Brazilís Minister of Finance announces intention to levy tax on payments and financial transactions at a rate that may be between 0.2% and 1%

As part of the tax reform discussions in Brazil, the Minister of Finance, Paulo Guedes, confirmed that President Jair Bolsonaro’s Administration intends to create a new tax that would be levied on payments and financial transactions. The tax could be similar to the previous provisional contribution on financial transactions (CPMF – Contribuição Provisória sobre Movimentação Financeira), but potentially with a broader scope.

According to the Minister, the tax on financial transactions (Imposto sobre Transacoes Financeiras – ITF) would be imposed on any payments and financial transactions, regardless of whether they have an economic purpose, and it could generate revenue of up to BRL150 billion (approx. US$36 billion) a year. Members of the Ministry of Finance indicated that tax collection would be focused on banks and other financial system agents.

The Administration will propose an ITF rate, which will depend on the taxes it is intended to (partially) replace, as follows:

  • If a 0.2% ITF rate is imposed, the employer’s contribution rate to Social Security (INSS contribution) could be reduced from the current 20% to 13%.
  • If the ITF rate is 0.4%, the social contribution on net profits, currently levied at 9% on the adjusted profits of legal entities, could be eliminated, on top of the INSS rate reduction.
  • A rate of 1% could then also replace indirect taxes currently in place in Brazil.

Regardless of the Administration’s proposed rate and taxes to be replaced, Congress will ultimately determine the ITF rate, as well as what taxes may be replaced by it.

The fact that the ITF resembles the CPMF, a tax that was levied on certain financial transactions for 10 years and eliminated in 2007, has elicited many negative reactions. Many economists note that the ITF – which applies even to simple bank deposits -- is cumulative, taxing Brazilian reals at every stage, thereby imposing a heavier burden on the less wealthy. It may also drive transactions to a cash basis to avoid the tax, as opposed to completing transactions through the financial system. Thus, the ITF could affect compliance in several areas. The effects for businesses must still be assessed.

For additional information with respect to this Alert, please contact the following:

Ernst & Young Serviços Tributários SP Ltda, São Paulo
  • Sérgio Fontenelle|sergio.fontenelle@br.ey.com
  • Ana Luiza Lourenco|analuiza.lourenco@br.ey.com
  • Washington Coelho|washington.coelho@br.ey.com
Ernst & Young LLP (United States), Latin American Business Center, New York
  • Gustavo Carmona Sanches|gustavo.carmona1@ey.com
  • Tiago Aguiar|tiago.aguiar@ey.com
  • Stefania Dalfre|stefania.dalfre1@ey.com
  • Ana Mingramm|ana.mingramm@ey.com
  • Enrique Perez Grovas|enrique.perezgrovas@ey.com
  • Pablo Wejcman|pablo.wejcman@ey.com
Ernst & Young LLP (United Kingdom), Latin American Business Center, London
  • Luciana Rodarte|luciana.rodarte@uk.ey.com
  • Jose Padilla|jpadilla@uk.ey.com
Ernst & Young Tax Co., Latin American Business Center, Japan & Asia Pacific
  • Raul Moreno, Tokyo|raul.moreno@jp.ey.com
  • Luis Coronado, Singapore |luis.coronado@sg.ey.com

ATTACHMENT

 
 

The information contained herein is general in nature and is not intended, and should not be construed, as legal, accounting or tax advice or opinion provided by Ernst & Young LLP to the reader. The reader also is cautioned that this material may not be applicable to, or suitable for, the reader's specific circumstances or needs, and may require consideration of non-tax and other tax factors if any action is to be contemplated. The reader should contact his or her Ernst & Young LLP or other tax professional prior to taking any action based upon this information. Ernst & Young LLP assumes no obligation to inform the reader of any changes in tax laws or other factors that could affect the information contained herein.

 

Copyright © 2023, Ernst & Young LLP.

 

All rights reserved. No part of this document may be reproduced, retransmitted or otherwise redistributed in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including by photocopying, facsimile transmission, recording, rekeying, or using any information storage and retrieval system, without written permission from Ernst & Young LLP.

 

Any U.S. tax advice contained herein was not intended or written to be used, and cannot be used, by the recipient for the purpose of avoiding penalties that may be imposed under the Internal Revenue Code or applicable state or local tax law provisions.

 

"EY" refers to the global organisation, and may refer to one or more, of the member firms of Ernst & Young Global Limited, each of which is a separate legal entity. Ernst & Young Global Limited, a UK company limited by guarantee, does not provide services to clients.

 

Privacy  |  Cookies  |  BCR  |  Legal  |  Global Code of Conduct