Sign up for tax alert emails    GTNU homepage    Tax newsroom    Email document    Print document    Download document

September 23, 2019
2019-6171

Argentina establishes early VAT reimbursement procedure for fixed-asset investments

On 18 September 2019, Argentina’s Government published, in the Official Gazette, General Resolution 4,581/2019 (GR 4,581), which establishes the early reimbursement procedure for Value Added Tax (VAT) associated with fixed-asset investments. Argentine companies should review the new procedure and determine whether it might provide them with an opportunity to improve their working capital position. GR 4,581 was effective 18 September 2019.

Background

Law 27,430 created a new system to reimburse VAT credits resulting from the purchase, manufacture, preparation or import of fixed assets (other than automobiles). The reimbursement applies to VAT credits remaining after six months. For more information on Law 27,430, see EY Global Tax Alert, Argentine tax reform: A review of key provisions, dated 10 January 2018.

GR 4,581

The budget law will set forth the quota for VAT credit reimbursements each year. For 2019, the quota is set at approximately US$250 million. VAT credit reimbursements will be prioritized from the oldest VAT credits to the newest.

The VAT credit reimbursement applies to: (i) existing investments in fixed assets that are treated as depreciable assets for income tax purposes; and (ii) the extent the invoices from which the VAT credits arise were issued after the early reimbursement procedure was established. For construction and goods in production, reimbursement will be available for input VAT incurred after 1 January 2018.

To be eligible for the reimbursement, taxpayers must have VAT credits from the purchase, manufacture, preparation or import of fixed assets (other than automobiles), and the VAT credits must still exist after six months. Additionally, taxpayers must prove that they have complied with their tax filing obligations, and their information is up to date in the tax authorities’ various registries. Taxpayers also must have a special report from an Argentine Certified Public Accountant that sets forth the fixed assets included in the reimbursement request and the reasonability, existence and legitimacy of the VAT credits.

Taxpayers must file annually the reimbursement claim through the tax authorities’ website from 1 through 10 December. The electronic system will indicate if the taxpayer is eligible to access the annual quota.

The tax authorities will analyze the reimbursement request and will issue a notification to the taxpayer approving or denying the benefit. Taxpayers that were not eligible for a reimbursement because the quota was not big enough in a given year may make a new request in the following year to try to start the process again.

As indicated by Law 27,430, the reimbursement will be subject to the condition that the VAT credit reimbursement will be absorbed within 60 months, through VAT payable for local transactions or VAT reimbursements related to exports. If such condition is not met, the taxpayer will be required to reimburse the tax authorities for the amount that did not meet the condition, plus the related interest and penalties, if any.

Companies doing business in Argentina should evaluate the new VAT benefit and assess the potential benefits in relation to their past and future investments.

For additional information with respect to this Alert, please contact the following:

Pistrelli, Henry Martin & Asociados S.R.L., Buenos Aires
  • Carlos Casanovas | carlos.casanovas@ar.ey.com
  • Gustavo Scravaglieri | gustavo.scravaglieri@ar.ey.com
  • Ariel Becher | ariel.becher@ar.ey.com
  • Sabrina Maiorano | sabrina.maiorano@ar.ey.com
  • Rodrigo Marabi | rodrigo.marabi@ar.ey.com
  • Agustina Paradiso | agustina.p.paradiso@ar.ey.com
Ernst & Young LLP (United States), Latin American Business Center, New York
  • Pablo Wejcman | pablo.wejcman@ey.com
  • Juan Ignacio Pernin | juan.ignacio.pernin@ey.com
  • Ana Mingramm | ana.mingramm@ey.com
  • Enrique Perez Grovas | enrique.perezgrovas@ey.com
Ernst & Young LLP (United Kingdom), Latin American Business Center, London
  • Pablo Baroffio | pablo.baroffio@uk.ey.com
  • Jose Padilla | jpadilla@uk.ey.com
Ernst & Young Tax Co., Latin American Business Center, Japan & Asia Pacific
  • Raul Moreno, Tokyo | raul.moreno@jp.ey.com
  • Luis Coronado, Singapore | luis.coronado@sg.ey.com

ATTACHMENT

 
 

The information contained herein is general in nature and is not intended, and should not be construed, as legal, accounting or tax advice or opinion provided by Ernst & Young LLP to the reader. The reader also is cautioned that this material may not be applicable to, or suitable for, the reader's specific circumstances or needs, and may require consideration of non-tax and other tax factors if any action is to be contemplated. The reader should contact his or her Ernst & Young LLP or other tax professional prior to taking any action based upon this information. Ernst & Young LLP assumes no obligation to inform the reader of any changes in tax laws or other factors that could affect the information contained herein.

 

Copyright © 2024, Ernst & Young LLP.

 

All rights reserved. No part of this document may be reproduced, retransmitted or otherwise redistributed in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including by photocopying, facsimile transmission, recording, rekeying, or using any information storage and retrieval system, without written permission from Ernst & Young LLP.

 

Any U.S. tax advice contained herein was not intended or written to be used, and cannot be used, by the recipient for the purpose of avoiding penalties that may be imposed under the Internal Revenue Code or applicable state or local tax law provisions.

 

"EY" refers to the global organisation, and may refer to one or more, of the member firms of Ernst & Young Global Limited, each of which is a separate legal entity. Ernst & Young Global Limited, a UK company limited by guarantee, does not provide services to clients.

 

Privacy  |  Cookies  |  BCR  |  Legal  |  Global Code of Conduct Opt out of all email from EY Global Limited.

 


Cookie Settings

This site uses cookies to provide you with a personalized browsing experience and allows us to understand more about you. More information on the cookies we use can be found here. By clicking 'Yes, I accept' you agree and consent to our use of cookies. More information on what these cookies are and how we use them, including how you can manage them, is outlined in our Privacy Notice. Please note that your decision to decline the use of cookies is limited to this site only, and not in relation to other EY sites or ey.com. Please refer to the privacy notice/policy on these sites for more information.


Yes, I accept         Find out more