Sign up for tax alert emails    GTNU homepage    Tax newsroom    Email document    Print document    Download document

October 1, 2019
2019-6208

Argentine taxpayers may be entitled to request reduced income tax prepayments due to application of integral adjustment for inflation

Companies that will close their tax years in December 2019 and thereafter may qualify for a reduction in their income tax prepayments because the integral inflation adjustment mechanism has been triggered in Argentina.

Background

Laws 27,430 and 27,468 established an integral inflation adjustment mechanism that is triggered when the variation of the Consumer Price Index (in Spanish, Índice de Precios al Consumidor nivel general or IPC) supplied by the National Institute of Statistics and Censuses (in Spanish, Instituto Nacional de Estadística y Censos or INDEC), exceeds 55%, 30% and 15% for tax years beginning on or after 1 January 2018, 2019 and 2020, respectively.

Reduction in income tax prepayments

As of August 2019, inflation since the beginning of the year has increased to 30.1%, which means companies that close their tax year in December 2019 and onwards must apply the integral adjustment for inflation for income tax purposes to those tax years.

Companies must make 10 monthly prepayments to be credited in their income tax return, which are calculated based on the tax for the previous tax year. Consequently, those prepayments may exceed the tax obligation of the tax year in which the adjustment for inflation will begin to be applied, because they are calculated based on the tax determined for a year in which the adjustment did not apply.

To prevent accumulating tax credits from exceeding the tax obligation, companies should evaluate whether they should request a prepayment reduction. Companies should be able to obtain a reduction if they project that their prepayments will exceed their tax obligation.

New precedent regarding allocation of adjustment for inflation

When companies apply the integral inflation adjustment mechanism, they must allocate one-third of any resulting negative or positive inflation adjustment to the tax year to which it corresponds, and the remaining two-thirds, in equal parts, to the following two tax years.

In a recent precautionary measure, however, a federal judge provisionally allowed a taxpayer to allocate the negative adjustment for inflation totally to the tax year to which it corresponded, instead of allocating it to three tax years, as provided by the income tax law. The ruling must still be affirmed by the higher courts but could be a welcome precedent if affirmed.

For additional information with respect to this Alert, please contact the following:

Pistrelli, Henry Martin & Asociados S.R.L., Buenos Aires
  • Carlos Casanovas | carlos.casanovas@ar.ey.com
  • Gustavo Scravaglieri | gustavo.scravaglieri@ar.ey.com
  • Ariel Becher | ariel.becher@ar.ey.com
Ernst & Young, LLP, Latin American Business Center, New York
  • Pablo Wejcman | pablo.wejcman@ey.com
  • Juan Ignacio Pernin | juan.ignacio.pernin@ey.com
  • Ana Mingramm | ana.mingramm@ey.com
  • Enrique Perez Grovas | enrique.perezgrovas@ey.com
Ernst & Young LLP (United Kingdom), Latin American Business Center, London
  • Pablo Baroffio | pablo.baroffio@uk.ey.com
  • Jose Padilla | jpadilla@uk.ey.com
Ernst & Young Tax Co., Latin American Business Center, Japan & Asia Pacific
  • Raul Moreno, Tokyo | raul.moreno@jp.ey.com
  • Luis Coronado, Singapore | luis.coronado@sg.ey.com

ATTACHMENT

 
 

The information contained herein is general in nature and is not intended, and should not be construed, as legal, accounting or tax advice or opinion provided by Ernst & Young LLP to the reader. The reader also is cautioned that this material may not be applicable to, or suitable for, the reader's specific circumstances or needs, and may require consideration of non-tax and other tax factors if any action is to be contemplated. The reader should contact his or her Ernst & Young LLP or other tax professional prior to taking any action based upon this information. Ernst & Young LLP assumes no obligation to inform the reader of any changes in tax laws or other factors that could affect the information contained herein.

 

Copyright © 2024, Ernst & Young LLP.

 

All rights reserved. No part of this document may be reproduced, retransmitted or otherwise redistributed in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including by photocopying, facsimile transmission, recording, rekeying, or using any information storage and retrieval system, without written permission from Ernst & Young LLP.

 

Any U.S. tax advice contained herein was not intended or written to be used, and cannot be used, by the recipient for the purpose of avoiding penalties that may be imposed under the Internal Revenue Code or applicable state or local tax law provisions.

 

"EY" refers to the global organisation, and may refer to one or more, of the member firms of Ernst & Young Global Limited, each of which is a separate legal entity. Ernst & Young Global Limited, a UK company limited by guarantee, does not provide services to clients.

 

Privacy  |  Cookies  |  BCR  |  Legal  |  Global Code of Conduct Opt out of all email from EY Global Limited.

 


Cookie Settings

This site uses cookies to provide you with a personalized browsing experience and allows us to understand more about you. More information on the cookies we use can be found here. By clicking 'Yes, I accept' you agree and consent to our use of cookies. More information on what these cookies are and how we use them, including how you can manage them, is outlined in our Privacy Notice. Please note that your decision to decline the use of cookies is limited to this site only, and not in relation to other EY sites or ey.com. Please refer to the privacy notice/policy on these sites for more information.


Yes, I accept         Find out more