Global Daily Tax Update

 Sign up for email alerts    Tax News Update    Tax News Update archive    Email this document    Print this document

October 10, 2019
2019-6254

German Government issues update on draft Mandatory Disclosure Rules

Executive summary

On 9 October 2019, the German Federal Government issued an update of the draft legislation on Mandatory Disclosure Rules addressing the implementation of the European Union (EU) Directive on the mandatory disclosure and exchange of cross-border tax arrangements (referred to as DAC6 or the Directive). The draft legislation contains some changes compared to the ministerial draft bill that was issued two weeks earlier.1

Under DAC6, taxpayers and intermediaries are required to report cross-border reportable arrangements as from 1 July 2020. However, reports will retrospectively cover arrangements where the first step is implemented between 25 June 2018 and 1 July 2020.2

Key Highlights

Only two weeks after the German Ministry of Finance published an amended draft bill on the Mandatory Disclosure Rules, the German Federal Government has issued an update of the draft legislation. The draft bill is subject to the further legislative process which is expected to be finalized by 31 December 2019 as required by the Directive. Like the ministerial draft bill, the Government’s draft does not contain any reporting obligations for purely domestic arrangements and is broadly aligned to the requirements of the Directive.

The most significant change compared to the previous ministerial draft bill is a change to the hallmark regarding cross-border payments between two or more associated enterprises (the equivalent of hallmark C1 under the Directive), which was suggested in the many comments on the ministerial draft bill. According to the Government’s draft bill, only those payments which are deductible for the payor as operating expenses are considered relevant. However, this limitation would currently only apply to the subset of the C1-equivalent hallmark which is not subject to the so-called “main benefit test.” Presumably, this is an editorial mistake which could be corrected during the legislative process.

Next Steps

Determining if there is a reportable cross-border arrangement raises complex technical and procedural issues for taxpayers and intermediaries. Taxpayers and intermediaries who have operations in Germany should review their policies and strategies for logging and reporting tax arrangements so that they are fully prepared for meeting these obligations.

Endnotes

1. See EY Global Tax Alert, German Ministry of Finance amends draft Mandatory Disclosure Rules, dated 30 September 2019.

2. See EY Global Tax Alert, EU publishes Directive on new mandatory transparency rules for intermediaries and taxpayers, date 5 June 2018.

For additional information with respect to this Alert, please contact the following:

Ernst & Young GmbH, Berlin
  • Dirk Nolte | dirk.nolte@de.ey.com
Ernst & Young GmbH, Düsseldorf
  • Cornelia Wolff | cornelia.wolff@de.ey.com
Ernst & Young GmbH, Munich
  • Christian Ehlermann | christian.ehlermann@de.ey.com
  • Katja Nakhai | katja.nakhai@de.ey.com
Ernst & Young LLP (United States), German Tax Desk, New York
  • Tobias Appl | tobias.appl2@ey.com
  • Thomas Eckhardt | thomas.eckhardt@ey.com
  • Tamara Haydu | tamara.haydu1@ey.com
  • Stefan Heinen | stefan.heinen1@ey.com
  • Julia Koeth | julia.koeth1@ey.com
  • Lukas Kronen | lukas.kronen1@ey.com

ATTACHMENT

 

 


 

The information contained herein is general in nature and is not intended, and should not be construed, as legal, accounting or tax advice or opinion provided by Ernst & Young LLP to the reader. The reader also is cautioned that this material may not be applicable to, or suitable for, the reader's specific circumstances or needs, and may require consideration of non-tax and other tax factors if any action is to be contemplated. The reader should contact his or her Ernst & Young LLP or other tax professional prior to taking any action based upon this information. Ernst & Young LLP assumes no obligation to inform the reader of any changes in tax laws or other factors that could affect the information contained herein.

 

Copyright © 2020, Ernst & Young LLP.

 

All rights reserved. No part of this document may be reproduced, retransmitted or otherwise redistributed in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including by photocopying, facsimile transmission, recording, rekeying, or using any information storage and retrieval system, without written permission from Ernst & Young LLP.

 

Any U.S. tax advice contained herein was not intended or written to be used, and cannot be used, by the recipient for the purpose of avoiding penalties that may be imposed under the Internal Revenue Code or applicable state or local tax law provisions.

 

"EY" refers to the global organisation, and may refer to one or more, of the member firms of Ernst & Young Global Limited, each of which is a separate legal entity. Ernst & Young Global Limited, a UK company limited by guarantee, does not provide services to clients.

 

Privacy  |  Cookies  |  BCR  |  Legal  |  Global Code of Conduct