Sign up for tax alert emails    GTNU homepage    Tax newsroom    Email document    Print document    Download document

December 19, 2023
2023-2096

US Treasury announces entry into force of the US-Chile tax treaty

The United States and Chile have exchanged instruments of ratification for the "Convention between the Government of the United States of America and the Government of the Republic of Chile for the Avoidance of Double Taxation and Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with Respect to Taxes on Income and Capital" (Treaty) to enter into force. This is the first US tax treaty with Chile. For taxes withheld at source, the Treaty will have effect for amounts paid or credited on or after 1 February 2024. For all other taxes, the Treaty will have effect for tax periods beginning on or after 1 January 2024.

Background

On 22 June 2023, the US Senate gave its advice and consent to ratify the Treaty and included two reservations concerning IRC Section 59A (the Base Erosion and Anti-abuse Tax) and Article 23 (Relief from Double Taxation). Provisions relating to the reservations were subsequently approved by the Chilean Congress. President Biden signed the instruments of ratification in December. The Treaty entered into force on 19 December 2023, when the US notified Chile that it had satisfied all applicable procedures to bring the treaty into force.

Treaty provisions

Significant provisions of the Treaty include:

  • Reduced withholding tax rates on certain payments of dividends, interest and royalties
  • A permanent establishment (PE) provision that deems a PE to exist from the provision of services under certain circumstances
  • A limitation-on-benefits provision that includes a "headquarters company test" and a triangular provision
  • Provisions on the sale of shares or other rights in Chilean resident companies
  • Provisions providing for exchange of information between the tax authorities of the United States and Chile

For details about the provisions of the Treaty, see Tax Alert 2023-1138. For additional background, see EY Global Tax Alerts, U.S.-Chile tax treaty ratified by Chilean Congress closer to entering into force, dated 15 November 2023, and Double tax treaty with United States inches towards Chilean ratification, dated 8 November 2023.

———————————————

Contact Information
For additional information concerning this Alert, please contact:
 
Ernst & Young LLP (United States), Washington
   • Colleen O’Neill, Washington, DC (colleen.oneill@ey.com)
   • Arlene Fitzpatrick, Washington, DC (arlene.fitzpatrick@ey.com)
   • Julia Tonkovich, Washington, DC (julia.m.tonkovich@ey.com)
   • Anna Moss, Washington, DC (anna.moss@ey.com)
   • Nathalie Nguyen, Washington, DC (nathalie.nguyen@ey.com)
EY Chile, Santiago
   • Javiera Contreras, EY Chile Tax Leader (maria.javiera.contreras@cl.ey.com)
   • Janice Stein (janice.stein@cl.ey.com)
   • Felipe Espina (felipe.espina@cl.ey.com)
   • Juan Pablo Navarrete (juan.navarrete@cl.ey.com)
   • Nicolas Brancoli (nicolas.brancoli@cl.ey.com)
   • Victor Fenner (victor.fenner@cl.ey.com)
   • Dario Romero (dario.romero@cl.ey.com)
   • Nicolas Orezzoli (nicolas.orezzoli@cl.ey.com)
   • Jonnathan Martinez (jonnathan.martinez@cl.ey.com)
   • Cristian Sepulveda (cristian.e.sepulveda@cl.ey.com)
Ernst & Young LLP (United States), Latin American Business Center, New York
   • Pablo Wejcman (pablo.wejcman@ey.com)
   • Benjamin Mosella, Chile Tax Desk (benjamin.mosella@ey.com)
Ernst & Young LLP (United Kingdom), Latin American Business Center, London
   • Sofia Hernandez, Chile Tax Desk (sofia.d.hernandez1@uk.ey.com)
   • Lourdes Libreros (lourdes.libreros@uk.ey.com)
Ernst & Young Tax Co., Latin American Business Center, Japan & Asia Pacific
   • Raul Moreno, Tokyo (raul.moreno@jp.ey.com)
   • Luis Coronado, Singapore (luis.coronado@sg.ey.com)
   • Patricio Velasco, Hong Kong, Chile Tax Desk (patricio.a.velasco@hk.ey.com)

Published by NTD’s Tax Technical Knowledge Services group; Jennifer A Brittenham, legal editor

 
 

The information contained herein is general in nature and is not intended, and should not be construed, as legal, accounting or tax advice or opinion provided by Ernst & Young LLP to the reader. The reader also is cautioned that this material may not be applicable to, or suitable for, the reader's specific circumstances or needs, and may require consideration of non-tax and other tax factors if any action is to be contemplated. The reader should contact his or her Ernst & Young LLP or other tax professional prior to taking any action based upon this information. Ernst & Young LLP assumes no obligation to inform the reader of any changes in tax laws or other factors that could affect the information contained herein.

 

Copyright © 2024, Ernst & Young LLP.

 

All rights reserved. No part of this document may be reproduced, retransmitted or otherwise redistributed in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including by photocopying, facsimile transmission, recording, rekeying, or using any information storage and retrieval system, without written permission from Ernst & Young LLP.

 

Any U.S. tax advice contained herein was not intended or written to be used, and cannot be used, by the recipient for the purpose of avoiding penalties that may be imposed under the Internal Revenue Code or applicable state or local tax law provisions.

 

"EY" refers to the global organisation, and may refer to one or more, of the member firms of Ernst & Young Global Limited, each of which is a separate legal entity. Ernst & Young Global Limited, a UK company limited by guarantee, does not provide services to clients.

 

Privacy  |  Cookies  |  BCR  |  Legal  |  Global Code of Conduct