Sign up for tax alert emails    GTNU homepage    Tax newsroom    Email document    Print document    Download document

February 20, 2023

Cyprus | Update of EU list of non-cooperative jurisdictions may trigger withholding tax and other implications

  • The EU has updated its list of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes. Specifically, it added four new jurisdictions to Annex I, removed four from Annex II and added three new jurisdictions to Annex II.

  • These changes may trigger withholding tax and other implications for the respective jurisdictions, as outlined in this Alert.

Executive summary

On 14 February 2023, at the Economic and Financial Affairs Council, the European Union (EU) Finance Ministers approved the revised list of non-cooperative jurisdictions (EU List). Specifically, in Annex I, four jurisdictions were added (British Virgin Islands, Costa Rica, Marshall Islands and Russia) whereas in Annex II, Barbados, Jamaica, North Macedonia, and Uruguay were removed and Albania, Aruba, and Curaçao have now been added.

As of 31 December 2022, Cyprus imposed withholding tax on dividend, interest and royalty payments made to entities that are registered or resident in a jurisdiction that is included in Annex I of the EU List.

Detailed discussion

Background on EU listing process

The EU started working on the list of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes in 2016 and published its list of non-cooperative jurisdictions for the first time on 5 December 2017, which was comprised of two annexes. Annex I includes jurisdictions that fail to meet the EU’s criteria on tax transparency, fair taxation and implementation of base erosion and profit shifting (BEPS) measures by the required deadline and Annex II includes jurisdictions that have made sufficient commitments to reform their tax policies but remain subject to close monitoring while executing their commitments. Once a jurisdiction has executed all of its commitments, it is removed from Annex II.

On 14 February 2023, the EU Finance Ministers updated the EU List and included four new jurisdictions in Annex I. As per the latest update, the British Virgin Islands, Costa Rica, the Marshal Islands, and Russia have been added and together with American Samoa, Anguilla, Bahamas, Fiji, Guam, Palau, Panama, Samoa, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, US Virgin Islands and Vanuatu, represent the 16 jurisdictions that are currently on the EU List.

The next update of the bi-annual review of the EU List is expected in October 2023.

Withholding tax on payments made to non-cooperative jurisdictions

In an effort to be in line with the proposals set by the EU regarding the application of defensive measures, as noted in our previous EY Global Tax Alert, Cyprus has opted to introduce the imposition of withholding taxes on outbound payments of dividends, interest and royalties made to companies which are tax resident or registered in jurisdictions included in Annex I of the EU List.

The relevant provisions have been transposed into the Cypriot Income Tax Law and Special Contribution to the Defense Law and are effective as of 31 December 2022.

As of today, the Cypriot Tax Department (Tax Department) has not issued any official guidance to taxpayers with regards to the practical application of withholding taxes in cases where an outbound payment of dividends, interest, or royalties is made to a company resident or registered in a non-cooperative jurisdiction.

We understand that as of the date of this Alert, the Tax Department is considering the details on the practical application of the new withholding tax rules and is expected to provide clarifications and guidance to taxpayers in the following weeks on matters including but not limited to:

  • Application of withholding taxes and the determination as to which jurisdictions are included on the EU List at a specific point in time, covering additions to and removals from the EU List.

  • Whether the determination of the tax point for withholding purposes will be made on a “cash basis” or “accrual basis.”

  • Applicability of a deemed dividend distribution provision in cases where corporate shareholders have been tax residents in jurisdictions included on the EU List.

It should be highlighted that in cases where withholding taxes are applicable and an Agreement for the Avoidance of Double Taxation between Cyprus and the non-cooperative jurisdiction is in place (which currently is the case only for Russia), such Agreement is expected to supersede the provisions of the domestic tax laws. Consequently, the withholding tax rates included in the Double Tax Treaty should apply on the relevant type of income (dividends, interest, royalties).


For additional information with respect to this Alert, please contact the following:

Ernst & Young Cyprus Limited


The information contained herein is general in nature and is not intended, and should not be construed, as legal, accounting or tax advice or opinion provided by Ernst & Young LLP to the reader. The reader also is cautioned that this material may not be applicable to, or suitable for, the reader's specific circumstances or needs, and may require consideration of non-tax and other tax factors if any action is to be contemplated. The reader should contact his or her Ernst & Young LLP or other tax professional prior to taking any action based upon this information. Ernst & Young LLP assumes no obligation to inform the reader of any changes in tax laws or other factors that could affect the information contained herein.


Copyright © 2024, Ernst & Young LLP.


All rights reserved. No part of this document may be reproduced, retransmitted or otherwise redistributed in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including by photocopying, facsimile transmission, recording, rekeying, or using any information storage and retrieval system, without written permission from Ernst & Young LLP.


Any U.S. tax advice contained herein was not intended or written to be used, and cannot be used, by the recipient for the purpose of avoiding penalties that may be imposed under the Internal Revenue Code or applicable state or local tax law provisions.


"EY" refers to the global organisation, and may refer to one or more, of the member firms of Ernst & Young Global Limited, each of which is a separate legal entity. Ernst & Young Global Limited, a UK company limited by guarantee, does not provide services to clients.


Privacy  |  Cookies  |  BCR  |  Legal  |  Global Code of Conduct Opt out of all email from EY Global Limited.


Cookie Settings

This site uses cookies to provide you with a personalized browsing experience and allows us to understand more about you. More information on the cookies we use can be found here. By clicking 'Yes, I accept' you agree and consent to our use of cookies. More information on what these cookies are and how we use them, including how you can manage them, is outlined in our Privacy Notice. Please note that your decision to decline the use of cookies is limited to this site only, and not in relation to other EY sites or Please refer to the privacy notice/policy on these sites for more information.

Yes, I accept         Find out more